Reflexology…Welcome to the Knee Joint

                                                  

The knee joint is the largest joint in the body, and perhaps the most complex

This amazing structure of muscles, bones, ligaments and cartilage supports and stabilizes the body as you bend, straighten, and twist during daily activities.

The knee joint is one of the most vulnerable joints in the body and after years of repetitive weight-bearing, may begin to show signs of wear and tear. Whether it is the result of an injury or simply the constant weight of your body on your knees, pain and swelling is a well-known problem – especially in athletes.

 

Common Conditions Affecting the Knee:

*Osteoarthritis

*Bursitis

*Tendonitis

*Torn Cartilage

 

Reflexology is a valuable tool that helps with not only the pain associated with knee issues, but is also a means for keeping the knees strong and healthy.

These are the main reflex points on which I focus, when attending a client with knee weakness.

 

Knee Reflex

*In order to strengthen the knee joint and to send healing energy to any injured area.

Location: a small, soft triangular section, about 1 inch below the ankle bone.

 

Spine Reflex

*The spine is the main support for the entire body, taking some of the weight off the knees.

Location: inside portion of the feet, running from the neck of the big toes, to the edge of the heel (it follows the natural curve of the instep).

 

Adrenal Gland Reflex

*The adrenal glands increase the body’s natural anti-inflammatory hormones, which seem to soothe problematic knees.

Location: situated directly on the top portion of the kidney reflex points.

 

*Please review the Foot Map Page on this blog to get a clear visual of where these reflex points are located.

 

Aromatherapy

*Rosemary

*Eucalyptus

*These two pure essential oils have strong analgesic properties which can help greatly with knee pain.

 

Suggested Use

Compress

*Fill a medium size basin with tepid water.

*Add 5 drops of each essential oil to half a cup of Epsom salts - then pour the mixture into basin (stir well).

*Place 2 small hand towels into basin, allowing them to soak up the water.

*After slightly wringing, wrap a towel around one or both knees.

*Reapply until the pain subsides.

 

Caution Care

*Use only pure essential oils

*Keep essential oils away from the eyes.

 *Do not apply essential oils to the skin without first diluting as instructed above.

*Do not apply essential oils to knees that have open cuts, scrapes or wounds.

 

When used with care and respect, Reflexology and Aromatherapy are tremendous aides for troubled knees.

Knees are a very important part of our existence. We “kneed” them to move around in this world – so take good care of them.

And every once in awhile, just say Hi to your knees….. Hinees!

Be well

 

To find a Reflexologist in your area, please refer to the Find A Practitioner Link on the sidebar.

Portions of this post gratefully supplied by: “Hands On Feet” – Michelle Kluck

Photo: a.j.gazmen-gucci bear

 

                      

15 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by dave on September 11, 2007 at 6:34 pm

    Hello Ron,

    I enjoyed this post and have learned quite a bit. I kneeded this today. My knee is acting up once more. But soon I will be on vacation and resting. I guess you can say I am leaving this joint for a while.
    Talk to you soon.
    Dave

  2. Now knees I know about!

    Having suffered for years with an deformed arthritic knee the only relief I found, until I had knee replacement surgery, was with reflexology. :)

  3. Posted by solework on September 12, 2007 at 1:48 am

    Hey Dave~

    So good to see ya!

    I have occasional issues with my knees too (an old theater-day wound), and being on my feet in part-time retail, it reminds me to use these two modalities for “self-help.”

    I feel SO BLESSED to know them.

    A VACATION…..good for you Dave! What a wonderful time of the year to take a break. Fall is my all-time favorite (us Libras know that).

    Hope you have great time relaxing and resting.

    Thanks so much for stopping by to say hello my friend…it’s always a “special treat.”

    Knee well,
    Ron

  4. Posted by solework on September 12, 2007 at 1:56 am

    Hey Akelamalu~

    I thought of YOU the whole time I composed this post!

    If ANYONE knows about knees…it’s you.

    The Bionic Woman!

    So, thank you for confirming the benefits of reflexology….that means a lot to me…and my readers!

    Much thanks for taking the time to drop on by and leaving me a comment….MUCHO GRASSY!

    Knee well,
    Ron

  5. Hey there…I guess I need to come by more often…I suppose you’ve had the new template for a bit…?

    That first image is scary looking for some reason….regardless, the post was terrific.

    YOu are very good at teaching about this topic.

    Blessings to you!!!

  6. Posted by francesca on September 13, 2007 at 1:51 pm

    Hi Ron,
    thanks for the suggestion, my older son (14) is suffering quite e bit with his knees, no giving up for anything his snowbording he’s aching all winter long and spring too!

    knee well! :-)
    francesca

  7. Posted by solework on September 13, 2007 at 6:17 pm

    Morning Greenwoman~

    So good to see you…thanks for dropping by!

    Yeah…the image kind of looks like JAWS!

    (Don’t go in the water)

    I had originally selected a photo of someone riding a bike, with the knees being the main focus, however, I wanted this post to really focus on the “knee joint” – so God bless Flickr – while searching anatomy…this “joint” popped up!

    Yeah….I changed the template about 2 weeks ago. Every time the seasons changed, it gives me the urge to change too. This is a new template for WordPress and it was TOTALLY different than the other ones I’ve had. The header has a lot of variety. It FELT good…so I grabbed it!

    Hey…is it getting nice and cool where you are? It is here – I’m like a little kid jumping up and down. I am in LOVE with Fall and Winter. The colder it gets…the happier I become.

    I was a Penguin in a pastlife!

    Hope you have a great rest of the week Greenwoman. Again, thank you for your presence here!

    Hi knees,
    Ron

  8. Posted by solework on September 13, 2007 at 6:31 pm

    Helloooo Francesca~

    Much thanks for stopping by again!

    Yeah…for some reason, the knees seem to be such a vulnerable point for many people.

    Maybe if we still walked on “all fours” – like we did a billion years ago – our knees would be happier!

    (Of course, our clothes would get ruined) tee-hee!

    So glad you found some assistance within this post. I have found that reflexology is SOOOO helpful for knee issues, and the pain associated with them.

    Have a wonderful day Francesca – drop by anytime!

    Hi knees,
    Ron

  9. Hi Ron,

    Good post. I’ve always been in favor of knees. They’re a good idea. Sitting down and standing up would be strange and painful manuevers without them. ;)

    I like this template. Just finished monkeying with mine, but only the artwork and colors.

    Knee deep in leaves,
    Greg

  10. Posted by solework on September 15, 2007 at 9:53 am

    Hey Greg~

    Welcome!

    I was JUST thinking about you the other day. I saw one of our “buddies” in the park! They’re already starting to “squirrel” their food away for the Fall. I saw one burying a HUGE peanut underground…and then he quickly covered it with a leaf (I quess to camoflage it). It was too cute.

    Your comment about knees made me chuckle.

    Yea…I changed the template about 2 weeks ago….thanks for noticing. I NEVER use blue for anything. However I like the fresh, bright coolness of this shade. It reminded me of a surfboard at the beach. I LOVE WordPress, but they have such limited, confined templates.

    Yours is a beaut! You can tell it’s original.

    Hey listen, have you opened comments at your blog yet? If not, how can I leave you a comment when I stop by? Just let me know if that’s possible.

    I’m just starting a new blog at Blogger. It’s going to be VERY different than this one. The comments will be closed, because I want it to be a space for me to just write. When I get it finished, I’ll let you know.

    Thanks so much for stopping by and visiting Greg. It’s always good hearing from you!

    Knee-jerk reaction,
    Ron

  11. Hi Ron,

    Yep, if there’s a favorite season for a squirrel, this is probably it. More nuts and berries than a little one knows how to deal with.

    Thanks for the compliment. :) And yes, I’ve opened the comments area to anyone (deep breaths), all that’s required is a name and email. So far it’s been fine, no wierdness. Please drop by anytime.

    Please do let me know when your new project is underway.

    Good to catch up with you. :)

    The bee’s knees,
    Greg

  12. Posted by solework on September 16, 2007 at 5:10 am

    Hi Greg~

    GREAT!

    I’ve had comments enabled on this blog since I started it (9 months ago), and I’ve never had one “wierdness.” I’ve got it setup where ALL the comments are e-mailed to me first, for my approval. But I do know your reservation. I thought the SAME THING when I started. I think it all depends on WHAT you’re blogging about, and how a blogger responds to comments.

    I think it’s wonderful that you’ve opened yours up. Your blog is so warm and special. I think people would love to let you know how much they enjoy it.

    I’m going to place you on my blogroll (hope you don’t mind). This way, I can spread your words.

    Talk to you soon Greg. And thanks again for stopping by!

    I can think of no other retort for your last one, so…be well!

    Ron

  13. Hi Ron,

    Thanks for the comment, and compliments. My blog isn’t exactly set up for a lot of interaction… but good to read that you haven’t had any posting issues with yours.

    Thanks for adding my site to your list- I’ll do the same.

    Cheers!
    Greg

  14. Hi Ron… thought I already submitted my comments, but if not…

    Thanks for the compliments, the visit and listing in the roll! I’ve done the same.

    No retorts here, either. Nothing more knees saying. Heh heh heh.

    Greg

  15. Posted by solework on September 17, 2007 at 5:24 pm

    Morning Greg~

    So sorry about the “comment thing”.

    Every once in awhile WordPress, Akismet (anti-spam) grabs a hold of someones comment…and flings them into purgatory!@!

    I found your first comment there, and de-spammmed it!

    Anyway, good to hear from you and you’re so very welcome…it’s a pleasure to list you here!

    Have a GREAT Monday Greg!

    Ciao,
    Ron

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

