Reflexology for a Common Cold

                                         

AACHOOO!@*#

 

Now that the Fall and Winter are upon us, it’s quite common to experience an occasional cold.

Reflexology can work wonders for relieving much of the physical discomforts, and also help support immunity – so that the body can naturally move into wellness.

 

Reflex Points of Focus

Head/Sinuses

*To help decongest the head and sinuses.

Lungs/Bronchial Tubes

*To help break up congestion

Spleen

*To help with immunity

Thymus

*To help with immunity

(the thymus reflex point is located on the inside portion of both feet, about 1 inch below the neck reflex point)

 

*Note: Please refer to the Foot Map Page to get a clear view of where these reflex points are located.

 

Application of Reflexology

*Using either your thumb or index finger – firmly, but gently press and rotate on each of the reflex points.

*Work each point thoroughly for approximately 1 minute – then repeat the process 2 more times.

*This can be done 3 times a day.

*Note: Reflexology effectively breaks up congestion in the head and lungs; so don’t be alarmed if after the first application, your cold symptoms seem worse. It’s simply doing some “house cleaning.” These symptoms will normalize.

 

Aromatherapy

The use of essential oils along with reflexology is very beneficial in supporting the body’s natural immunity.

 

Eucalyptus

The essential oil of Eucalyptus is effective against coughs and colds, both as preventative and as a remedy. Externally it works as a decongestant, expectorant, and is excellent for the immune system.

 

Aromatherapy Application

*After completely reflexology – blend 3 drops of eucalyptus oil to 1 teasoon of Jojoba oil.

*Apply a small amount to both feet and rub in well.

*Breath deeply as you do this, to receive the benefits of this wonderful essential oil.

*Cover you feet with a pair of gym socks and allow the mixture to penetrate the skin.

 

Caution Care

~Use only pure essential oils.

~For external use only.

~Keep essential oils away from eyes.

~Never use essential oils on the skin without first diluting with a carrier oil.

 

So if the “cold bug” gets you down…have no fear…Reflexology and Aromatherapy are here!

When used with care and respect, these two modalities will help your body, help itself…naturally.

Wishing you a cold-free season…aaaaachooo!#?*

Bless you!

 

For pure essential oils and supplies: Hands-On Aromatherapy

 

 Photos: Marc 50 & Snowing Indoors

 

 

10 responses to this post.

  1. Thanks for the tips Ron. I start taking Echinacea at the first sign of a cold and within a couple of days it’s usually cleared up. Of course one has to check that it can be taken alongside any medication being taken. :)

  2. Posted by dave on November 5, 2007 at 11:25 pm

    I love this recipe for the cold and cold season. I have used this often and have made it countless times for others. It always works.

    I am having a difficult time getting to comment on Vent. Perhaps I have to use my cell phone LOL.
    Blessings to you my friend.

  3. Posted by solework on November 6, 2007 at 1:54 am

    Akelamalu~

    Yeah….I’m a HUGE fan of Echinacea. It seems to “nip” a cold before it gets worse. I LOVE that stuff. You’re right…it does not blend with some other traditional medication.

    Such a WISE lady you are!

    As always…I thank you for stopping by!

    AAACHOOOO!
    Ron

  4. Posted by solework on November 6, 2007 at 2:03 am

    Hey Mr. Dave~

    Oh no….I had this “comment problem” when I had Foot Notes hosted with Blogger about a year ago. That’s one of the reasons I moved over to WordPress.

    Oy vey!

    PLEASE don’t tell me I’m going to have this issue again???

    Thanks so much for telling me about this (not that I can do anything about it!?!?) It’ll work itself out…I guess!?

    Anyway Dave, thank you for trying to leave a comment.

    And YES…this little remedy seems to make me feel SOOOO much better when I’m experiencing a cold! Don’t you just love the smell of Eucalyptus?

    It’s always a joy to recieve a visit from you, my friend….GRAZIE!

    AAACHOOOO!
    Ron

  5. Posted by glindenbach on November 6, 2007 at 2:14 am

    Hey Ron,

    Was just looking for a place to comment in Vent last week. How’s that going?

    No colds here yet… I feel like I should be knocking on wood or something after writing that.

    Back to Vent for another look.

    Do you know that some people sneeze when looking at bright lights? No kidding.

    Cheers!
    Greg

  6. Posted by solework on November 6, 2007 at 5:39 am

    Hey Greg~

    So good to see ya!

    You’re right. You see, I started out Vent with the intention of having no comments…just a read blog. And then last week I changed my mind and left comments open. So there should be a comment link at the bottom of each post.

    A few of my readers here, have found the site and have begun leaving comments (how exciting it was to get my FIRST comment).

    I didn’t think I could handle answering comments on both blogs….but so far, so good. I’m trying to figure out a post schedule for each blog, so I can give them equal time.

    Oy vey!

    Hey…hows the book coming along???

    I am SOOOO happy for you! Let me know when you have your first book signing!

    Yes…I DO sneeze when I look at bright lights…especially the sun!

    I wonder why that happens???

    AAACHOOO!

    Thanks for stopping by Greg…it’s always a pleasure!

    Ron

  7. I’m very well aware of all the colds going around, and my husband is having allergy troubles right now too.

    So far I’ve either been spared, or my regular self-reiki treatments have taken care of things for me. I think it might be the latter, since I have a history of catching everything that goes around.

    I’m especially fond of the aromatherapy, and I guess the next essential oil I’ll be picking up will be Eucalyptus. Thanks for the tip!

  8. Posted by solework on November 7, 2007 at 10:13 pm

    Hello Beth~

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Good for you…I swear, Reiki DOES effectively work as a powerful preventative tool.

    Last year I got the flu (it was horrendous)..my “hair” even hurt! I NEVER miss work, but this thing knocked me out. I stayed home for 3 days and did nothing but Reiki, Reflexology and Aromatherapy. By the 4th day…I felt human again!

    I try and do a little of all 3 everyday, just to keep me well.

    I LOVE eucalyptus! I use it when I volunteer on Tuesdays, offering my services to those who are HIV. It’s excellent for immunity.

    Hope you’re enjoying this wonderful Fall weather. I noticed on your blog…that you too, love this time of the year!

    Stay well,
    Ron

  9. Good Thursday evening to you, Ron !

    Eucalyptus oil smells good when you have a cold – or in wintertime in general… :)

    Another thoughtful, caring post from you, taking care of all of us !

    Hugs,
    Loving Annie

  10. Posted by solework on November 9, 2007 at 6:28 pm

    Hey Annie~

    It’s so great to see ya~

    It’s funny, because just this morning I was thinking about YOU!!!!

    How’s it going? I read on your blog that you had a wonderful time on your little “gettaway” last month…good for you!

    I need to do one of those very soon…before the mad holiday rush begins in retail.

    Are you enjoying your Fall? It’s been wonderful here. Cold and crisp! Today we may even get some snow flurries…YEPEEEE!!!

    Thanks so much for taking the time to drop by and say hello….appreciate that Annie!

    Have a wonderful weekend if we don’t talk before then!

    AAAAACHOOOO!
    Ron

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

