Bodywork Potpourri


When I reflect over the past 10 years of my life, I can begin to see that there has been a specific design going on that has brought me to where I am in the present. It’s been a “layering process” that has gradually given me the valuable tools to become a bodywork practitioner.

It started in 1997 when I was guided to Reiki. After 3 years of practice, I was then introduced to Reflexology. Then about a year ago, I began the study of Aromatherapy.

At first I used these modalities as a single and separate unit, offering either/or to my clients. Then as time progressed, I started feeling the desire to blend them together into one single session. I began experimenting on myself, as well as some close friends-staying open to “inner feedback.”

Because bodywork involves energy (not only technique) there comes a time when the technique becomes second nature and the energy becomes the “guide.” I think of technique as “training wheels” that are eventually disregarded (but not forgotten).

My sessions have evolved into what I call: “Bodywork Potpourri.”

I’ve discovered that each one of these modalities actually “play off” one another-adding tremendous power and at the same time….a gentleness to my work.

When applying Reflexology, I have found that because of Reiki, there is no need to go deep with finger pressure- thus allowing the client to have a very relaxing experience. When working on the feet, if I discover a reflex point that is sensitive or tender, I then apply Reiki over the point- using a hand position for a few minutes- allowing the energy to move in and assist on a deeper level. I will also sometimes move from the feet to a particular body part (ex: shoulders) and apply some additional Reiki directly.

Aromatherapy (the use of essential oils) seems to “magnify” the connection between the client and the energy work. Not only can it be pleasing to the olfactory sense, but can also be very helpful in balancing the emotions and touching on the spirit. Frankincense seems to be one of those essential oils that suits every need of a client. It’s extremely powerful and sacred. It knows exactly what to do to restore balance (body-mind-spirit)……and does it in such a gentle way. I will sometimes add a few drops to the jojoba oil I use when giving a Hot Stone Reflexology session. The heat from the stones allows the aroma to linger in the air. It’s my all-time favorite!

I still offer my services as a single entity for those clients who have preferences. However for those individuals who leave themselves open to “whatever”- I most definitely suggest a nice order of……Bodywork Potpourri.

