Reflexology….are you a Virgin???

Like all new things that we may experience, the unknown can sometimes feel…. “Virginistic” (is that even a word)?

In this post I would like to share with you, what to generally expect when receiving a professional foot reflexology session. I will also infuse some of my own techniques.

First off….. I have found that a majority of people feel somewhat strange about their feet.

The size, shape, condition, and exposure of their feet makes them a little apprehensive about setting up an appointment.

Please realize something. A foot reflexologist has seen a great many feet – so they’re use to a wide variety. Also, the reason that someone would choose this type of profession, is because they appreciate feet and know just how enjoyable and affective this modality can be.

So let go…..and feel free to bare your soles to us!

Scheduling an Appointment

The ideal way to set up an appointment, is to get a good recommendation from someone who already receives foot reflexology. If this is not possible, look for an alternative health directory magazine in your area. You can also check out my Find a Practitioner link list for services in your hometown.

After speaking to a few, go with your gut feeling. Like all bodywork modalities, it’s important to feel a “connection” between the client and practitioner. Also, be sure to ask about the practitioner’s credentials. You want to be sure to go to someone who has had solid training in their field.

Expect to pay anywhere from $45.00 to $80.00 for a full session. Average is $60.00 ($1.00 per min). Some practitioners offer 30 min. sessions. Base your choice on how you feel about the practitioner…..not the price.

 

The Session

 Each practitioner has their own unique way of presenting a session. There is no right or wrong way. Like myself, a practitioner will often change their routine, as experience teaches them. Some offer a “spa-like” environment, while others offer more “therapeutic”.

You first session will be longer in length (usually 1 1/2 hrs). This is due to additional time designated for questions and some minimal “wellness” paper work. A disclaimer will be read and signed. Be sure to understand everything before signing. A disclaimer is usually about what foot reflexology does and doesn’t do, and also what to expect after the session.

After removing your shoes and socks, you will be asked to either lie on a massage table or to be seated in a recliner chair specifically designed for foot reflexology. Your feet will then be cleansed and sanitized before commencing.

Traditionally this modality is received without the use of oil, lotion or creams. A dry surface is preferred, due to enabling specific finger techniques on the various reflex points. However, some practitioners find the use of a light lotion helpful. Through years of experience, we each find different ways to perform this art. All ways are acceptable.

Personally, I use a little cornstarch powder applied to the feet. This seems to keep my hands and surface of the feet dry, giving me more control over finger movements.

A session commonly starts on the right foot (going from toes to heel) and then moves to the left foot. Again…some practitioners move back and forth between both feet (I have done this myself).

During the session a deep relaxation response is very common. You may find that certain reflex points being worked on – are slightly tender. This is due to blockages within the energy channels, throughout the body. A reflexologist will “pick up” on that, and will work the reflex points gently until the energy returns to a balance (this may take a few sessions).

After the session is completed, I apply a light peppermint lotion in order to revitalize the feet and awaken the client.

 

After the Session

After the session, feel free to discuss any questions or feelings that may have come up during the session. At this point, I review the possible natural health responses that a client may or may not experience within the next few days, as the body is cleansed.

Examples: frequent urination and bowel movements, light- headiness, exhaustion, energized, emotional release, muscle soreness. 

I usually leave it up to the client to decide when to schedule their next appointment. Each client is different. Some wish to continue with additional sessions, while others feel the desire to wait and see. I will sometimes offer a “game plan” to achieve optimum benefits. However, I always empower the client by allowing them to decide for themselves. Intuitively….they will know. 

Foot reflexology is a deeply relaxing, effective, gentle, yet powerful bodywork modality. It is a wonderful means in helping yourself through your soles ………to recycle, revitalize and renew your entire being. It will always work to restore the perfect balance within each unique individual.

In my next post, I will be discussing various questions and answers that have come up during my professional practice.

I hope that I have enabled you to get a clearer view of what it’s like to experience a session of foot reflexology. Please feel free to investigate the books that I have highlighted on my book page. You will find them clear and enjoyable.

So until next time……tread lightly!

And be well. 

 

12 thoughts on “Reflexology….are you a Virgin???

  1. Afternoon Akelamalu!

    It’s great hearing from you!

    Thank you….it’s so nice hear someone say that they have tried it, enjoyed it, and felt the benefits!

    For as long as I have been practicing…it STILL amazes me just how powerful this modality is!

    Thank’s for your input…I REALLY appreciate it.

    Have a great rest of your day!

    Be well,
    Ron

  2. Hi Ron, my name is CeeCi and I’m a Reflexology virgin.

    This was a very informative post. I really appreciated everything you shared about what the session will be like, going with your feelings about the person doing the treatment and all the different ways practitioners approach the modality. Great post.

    I smiled at the statement you made about people feeling strange about their own feet. Three guesses how I feel about mine…here’s a hint…have you noticed my avatar? Those toes are mine, oh and the sunflower actually grew in my garden all by itself (it was a volunteer)!

    I adore having my feet and my hands rubbed. It’s all good stuff!

    Your statement that some clients fall asleep during their session lead me to think that anyone having Reflexology really needs to check out and trust the reputation of the Reflexologist…there’s a lot of room for inappropriate behaviors to happen.

    Okay, I’m done with the ramble-gram. Thank you so much for your wonderful comments in the Garden recently. I wish we didn’t live so very far apart. More than once I’ve thought I’d love to be able to talk to you about some of your experiences. Often you say something that resonates with me. Again, thank you!

    ciao for now~
    CeeCi

  3. My reflexologist amazes me with what she picks up. I did a post on my blog about it recently, how she predicted a serious problem I had.

  4. Morning Akelamalu!

    I need to check out that post on your blog. You mentioned it before….and I’d love to read about that.

    Yes…it’s pretty darn amazing just how ACCURATE this modality is. The more often someone receives reflexology….the more sensitive their body becomes to it.

    It’s like WAKING UP something inside of you…that has BEEN there all the time!

    Thank God for making our FEET!!!!!

    It’s always a good hearing from you Akelamalu! Thank you for sharing.

    Be well,
    Ron

  5. Morning CeeCi!!!

    It’s always fun to hear from you. It sets my day off with a good-hearted laugh!

    You are too funny!!!?@>>#??!

    You know…I always WONDERED if those were YOUR feet! How COOL is that???? That photo would be a GREAT a spa advertisment for pedicures or reflexology. It’s PERFECT…..and very HAPPY! Maybe it’s the flower (or your nail poilsh)?

    Anyway, thank you for enjoying this post. It was a LONG one….however I feel that the public needs to know these things. This modality is JUST getting a NOTICE – so if I can clarify anything….it may allow them to feel more comfortable to at least TRY IT! Once they do….they’ll be AMAZED! And it FEELS so good too!

    After 7 years of practice….I STILL keep learning. I experiment alot on myself…this is how I learn.

    You’re so very welcome for my comments on your blog. I realize that my WAY of feeling things are a bit “unusual”…..and it’s not a WAY for everyone. I have struggled a great deal in learning these things, however, when I accepted them within myself…..my life seemed to take on a “natural flow”….that enabled me to accept myself…..which then allowed me to learn more.

    I can be quite critical of myself (and others too). I’m learning to “lower the bar”….which allows me to be healthfully humble.

    You have a beautiful soul CeeCi….I can feel that. And it has been a joy and pleasure getting to know you!

    Thank you!

    Be well,
    Ron

  6. Greetings Greenwoman!

    Thank you very much for stopping by…it’s great hearing from you!

    Thank you. WordPress is a bit limited in templates at the moment, so I had to get alittle creative here. Like CeeCi, I enjoy playing around with changes. I’m a Libra, so I get bored easily.

    Thank you for enjoying the puppy picture. I saw him/her and fell in love. I could just BITE it! It makes me want to get one. However, I’m such a “cat person”.

    Reflexology is such a LOVE of mine, so I wanted to allow the public to understand what to expect. It’s slowly becoming a favorite modality…but there still seems to be alittle resistance (like with most bodywork). However once someone experiences it….they end up LOVING it!

    Thank you again for your visit….it made me SMILE!

    Be well,
    Ron

  7. thank you for the informative posting. sorry i havent been around much…i’ve been helping a friend with some stuff.

    anyway, i do think i will schedule a relexology appt. you’ve convinced me. i’ve done other bodywork modalities, but never reflexology…and i am certain it would benefit me.

    thanks for the info. have an awesome weekend, ron!

  8. Hi M!

    I just got through leaving a comment on YOUR blog….how funny!!!!

    Thank you SO much for stopping by and taking a READ.

    Yeaaaa!!!! Your going to try Reflexology! I KNOW that you will love it…let me know how it goes for you!

    I’m off to work….but we’ll talk soon.

    Have an awesome weeknd too M!

    Be well,
    Ron

  9. Good Monday morning Ron ! How are you today ?
    i wish I lived close enough to have regular foot reflexology appointments with you !
    You explain everything so well, I can sense your passion and skill at your craft !

  10. Morning to YOU Annie!

    It’s a happy thing….getting a comment from you! Thanks for stopping by.

    Yeah….would’nt that be cool if YOU, MEREDITH, CEECI and GREEENWOMAN all lived closer??? We could have a ladies night of “Foot Reflexology” spa party!!!!!

    Thank you so much for enjoying my posts….YES….I enjoy having a passion for what I do. I’m all into feeling passionate about things (I’m Italian). If “passion” is not there for me….I can’t do a good job. I’ve had a few well paying jobs that I quit…. because I didn’t “feel it”. I felt like I was being dishonest to the customers.

    But anyway Annie, I hope all is well for you and this wonderful new journey your taking. I stop by your blog once a day to see if you’ve posted.

    Have a FABULOUS day wherever you are….and “mucho grassy” for your visit!

    Be well,
    Ron

Comments are closed.