A Balanced Life

                                       12034661_27d327b144_m.jpg

Being of body, mind and spirit – my challenge has always been, to live a life of balance.

I can always tell when I have “tipped the scales” …and moved into excess.

When I am excessive with my body…my mind feels it. When I am excessive with my mind…my body feels it.

And the reason has always been…is because I have temporarily disconnected from my spirit.

I feel very blessed to have been guided to the practice of natural healing. It has always given me the support I’ve needed when I have swung into excess.

 

~Prime Example~

 

My everyday diet is basically very balanced (my body always tells me what it needs). However I have a passion for decadant sweets and coffee. When I swing off balance – sweets and coffee become excessive. They become my “energy boost” when I’m tired and feeling “out of sorts.”

Eventually this causes me to lose sleep, which then causes me to get cranky and irritable.

From that point I get impatient and intolerant – with myself and others.

And then the inevitable happens…my mind starts to go wild.

Throughout the day, I will have constant inner battles and justifications going on – defending myself for what I am thinking and feeling – which then causes me to feel worse – which leads me to feel more tired…so I eat more sweets and drink more coffee.

Usually by the end of that work week, I am physically and mentally exhausted, and can’t tolerate being around anyone – so I hibernate in my apartment…knowing that it’s time to balance!

I will always receive a “knowing call” telling me exactly what I need to do to regain my own sense of equilibrium.

I stay off the computer and phone, and do not look at a clock for most of the day – so that nothing will distract me from feeling.

I start by doing some gentle stretching and yoga – which allows my body to release any pent up emotions that I have not fully expressed, usually causing me to break down and cry. I do not analyze why I feel these emotions – I simply allow them to have a life of their own…by no longer giving them any attention.

I then add some foot reflexology (focusing on my head, solar plexus and spine reflexes) which further releases physical, mental and emotional tension.

I will then use specific essential oils that I am intuituvely drawn to for that particular moment. I place a few drops into the palm of my hand, then rub both palms together – bringing them close to my nose, breathing deeply.

Then it’s time for some Reiki. This enables me to let go of myself and closely reconnect with my spirit.

I start by placing  my hands on my abdominal area. This is the area that holds on to me…and the me…is what I want to move beyond. I take slow, deep breaths. With every inhale, I take in the Source…and with every exhale…I let go of control. Lastly I place my hands on my chest, over my heart, and allow myself to feel the constant Source that is always there.

After this, I will usually feel much lighter, clearer and more centered.

Being a lover of nature, I will spend the rest of the afternoon sitting in a near-by park enjoying the fresh air, squirrels, visual beauty, and natural healing of the greatest “free gift” in the world.

So I can’t help but realize, that as long as I am human and living on this planet, there will continue to be times when I tip the scales of balance and move into some form of excess.

But I’m happy and grateful, that I have some of natures best “supports”at my fingertips, which will always bring me back…to a Balanced Life!

And do yourself a favor…please investigate further the valuable and powerful results of Foot Reflexology, Reiki and Aromatherapy.

You’ll be so blessed you did!

Be well

 

13 thoughts on “A Balanced Life

  1. Good Morning Akelamalu~
    Your so very welcome!
    Being a Libra…it’s all about maintaining “balance” (which believe me…I DON’T always achieve).
    So I honestly feel, that the Universe gave me (us) these gentle, sacred, natural tools, to help me when I get WACKO!#!?@
    I don’t know how I would survive on this planet without them!
    It’s like having a full-time, physician, psychiatrist, and spiritual guide with me…whenever they are needed.
    I thank God for them everyday!
    Thanks for always stopping by to say hello…I appreciate it my U.K. friend!
    Have a BALANCED day!
    Be well,
    Ron

  2. Ron,
    I too am thankful for the times of imbalance. I really would like them not to be there. But, without the imbalances then how would know what balanced is?
    It is always bliss when we are in balance and things are equal. The sun shines brighter, the sky is bluer. That gentle breeze seems to be there just for us. Thanks for tweaking my gratitude.

    Have a balanced day, my Libra friend.

  3. Afternoon Dave~

    And WHO else could understand this as well…except a fellow Librian???

    So TRUE Dave……

    If we never experienced “imbalance”…how WOULD we know BALANCE???

    Thanks for that insight!!!!

    It IS quite BLISSFUL when things are equally balanced, your right. Even the things that would “normally” upset us….don’t seem to faze us in that state!?!?!

    AHHHHHH…the BALANCED LIFE!!!!

    Oh well….it’s something to look forward to…isn’t it?

    Your energy and light are always appreciated here Dave…much thanks!

    Wishing you a whole WEEK of BALANCE!

    Be well,
    Ron

  4. Good Evening Annie~

    Greetings my friend!

    I’ve given up on trying to move through these “imbalanced moments”…by figuring it out with my “mental” capacity. It never seems to work for me.

    However, when I return myself to “spirit”…it always seems to move me in the healthest direction…and then I am able to SEE clearly!

    I use my mind for “practical” things, such as “balancing” my check book (tee-hee). Other than that…I follow my spirit!

    And it honestly doesn’t feel like a lot of work…because I’m not DOING anything…other than “letting go.”

    Much thanks for your visit Annie!

    I’m stopping by your “place” right now!

    Be Balanced!

    Ron

  5. Oh Ron, how very well you’ve described “the vicious cycle” of addictive foods and the impact they can have on our body. I’m so glad you shared this…I’m there right now and have just realized I have been for several weeks. Time to make some changes to my food choices.

    I find that when I’m out of balance very little makes me happy. In fact, I become hyper-sensitive and nearly everything and everyone I encounter becomes a challenge. The yucky loop of thinking begins and I become trapped within it. Not fun and usually the person who suffers the most for it is me.

    So, beginning right here and now, no sweets for me. There are a few other things to add to the list and I’ll address them in the days to come so I won’t cause myself to feel deprived and end up back in the loop.

    Thank you for writing about how you make the pent up emotions go away. They sound like gentle and peaceful ways to restore your balance. I think it’s important to know these things. As I was reading I could identify with closing the door and not peeking out until you’re smooth again…me too!

    One more thing, then I’ll end this rambling comment! I adore the picture you chose for your post. They’re both an X! (almost)

    I hope you’re having a terrific day and that your reflexology students are an eager and intelligent group.

    ciao for now~
    CeeCi

  6. Afternoon CeeCi~

    So glad your dropped by for a visit my friend!

    Hey…don’t ever concern yourself with “rambling”- whatever you feel the need to say…just know, that it’s meant to be said. All of us here can learn something from each other. And God knows…I RAMBLE!

    It never ceases to amaze me how the “blogger world” seems to “connect” us to the things we all seem to be going through at the exact same time! That is SO cool! (the X picture).

    I JUST went through “this” last week…so I decided to post about it on Monday.

    Ramble time……

    The 2 points that I wanted to share here are this:

    1- When this happens to me…it’s TOTALLY about my disconnection with my spirit, NOT about the feelings, emotions and eating habits I am experiencing.

    Those are just the “things” that “get my attention” to move back to my spirit.

    So making the “reconnection” is the most important thing – NOT using my personal power to focus on changing my eating habits or using my mind to figure out WHY I am feeling certain things (such as intolerance, anger, irritability, etc.).

    This will ALWAYS been a losing battle…because I am once again FOCUSING on them and giving them POWER. The whole idea…is to allow them to BE…just as they are. And eventually, they LOSE their power…so that the SOURCE can speak to me.

    I know this sounds contradictory, however I have learned, that when I just simply become AWARE of the excess in my life and NOT judge myself for it, giving them free reign…this seems to be the most powerful thing I can do…to leaving myself open to GUIDANCE…from the Source.

    Reflexology, Reiki and Aromatherapy are the tools which help me, by taking care of the “excess” that I am experiencing…however the whole point…is to get back to my spirit.

    THAT’S where the “balance” lies.

    2- I must realize that this will always be a continuing process. And this is why I must NOT judge myself for being HUMANLY EXCESSIVE…because I am MEANT to fall into imbalance.

    And as Dave (one of my commentors, so beautifully expressed) “How would we know BALANCE (the Source)…if we never experienced IMBALANCE (our humaness)”

    My whole journey…is about allowing the Source to communicate with me…so that it will take care of the “humaness” in me. And this must be done GENTLY…without forcing any specific RESULT. I must be patient (which I HATE).

    However, without the Source…I have NO power to see anything clearly…because I am looking at it…through my limited human eyes!

    The Source will never judge me for my imbalances…because it doesn’t even SEE that. It only sees the LOVE…that it has for me.

    And THIS is what I must to return to….nothing else.

    TALK ABOUT RAMBLING!?!?!??

    Anyway…my loving friend.

    Just ALWAYS remember to return to the SOURCE…and the rest of it will heal!

    You are LOVED!

    Be well,
    Ron

  7. Good Evening Greenwoman~

    It’s so good of you to drop in!

    Thank you for kind comment and for understanding this challenging process!

    It’s all about surrendering to.

    You and CeeCi both mentioned this photo. And it’s a funny thing – I really didn’t want to use this image – I wanted to use a balancing scale. However when I found the perfect one…is was NOT available for downloading (shit)! So this one popped up…and something kept telling me, “This is the ONE”…so I figured…THERE MUST BE A REASON!?!?!?!? And now that you guys mentioned it….I know it to be TRUE! So thank you for saying what you did!

    You and CeeCi were so missed last week. It’s so good to have you both back!

    You ladies are so LOVED!

    Be well,
    Ron

  8. Hi Ron,
    this is my first time here, nice to meet you!
    thanks for your site and your posts. I too am starting to practise reflexology, still quite at the beginning, it’s only been two years, would like to do more although it isn’t my main job… actually… it is not a job at all, don’t get any money out of it, just do it for pleasue.
    I do appreciate this post, nice feeling of sharing, I too receive often a “knowing call”, that finally I have learned to listen!!
    Wish you the best
    francesca

  9. Hi Francesca~

    So nice to meet you and thank you for taking the time to stop by Foot Notes!

    Congratulations on taking an interest in Reflexology…that’s wonderful…isn’t it GREAT?

    Hey listen…reflexology isn’t my main job either, and I’ve been certified and practicing for over 7 years. I supplement my income by doing other things. I volunteer my services with an organization that supplies holistic modalities for those infected and affected with HIV. It is HERE that I have learned the MOST about this art. I also take clients out of my home, but not enough to quit my day job. I work part-time teaching reflexology to massage students, once or twice a month at a massage school. I tried working at spas for a while, but found it to be too confining and too much about “back to back” appointments. I enjoy taking my time with clients, making my own schedule, and allowing reflexology to be more affordable.

    When I first started in reflexology, my goal was to be full-time; however, I realized that I “personally” work best with some variety in my life.

    I started this blog last November as a means to help educate the public in the various modalities that I practice – reflexology being the main one. It seems that many people are still unaware of this modality, or have heard about it, and would like to know more. Hopefully, by sharing my expriences in a fun and easy way – it will give the public some understanding – and then prompt them to make an appointment with a professional.

    Through Foot Notes, I would also like to help others help themselves, by giving them “self-help tips” that they may wish to use at home. I’m all about “self-empowering.” I show my clients how to apply reflexology in between appointments.

    Since this blog, I’ve started writing articles for various web sites, which has enabled me to grow in my passion for writing. Foot Notes has been a great creative outlet for me – so I feel blessed!

    I have discovered that the more I listen to that “knowing call”….the more I see, that it knows BETTER than me…where I NEED to be…and what I SHOULD be doing.

    And it sounds to me that you follow that call too!

    If we do things out of “pleasure” and “love” (and it’s MEANT to be)…I am a firm believer…that it will eventually guide us along the path.

    Francesca, thank you again for stopping by and leaving me a comment…it’s very much appreciated and enjoyed! Feel free to visit anytime you wish. I usually post 2-3 times a week. And if there is ANY topic you would like me to research for a post…PLEASE let me know – I would be more than happy to consider it!

    Have an enjoyable weekend!

    Be well,
    Ron

Comments are closed.