Reflexology…Sock it to You!

A fun, easy and enjoyable way to introduce yourself to the Art of Foot Reflexology – is through a pair a socks!

They make a great beginners instructional tool that allows you to get a broad view of the foot map and how it reflects the body. They are designed to be a general guide to all the major reflex points on the feet.

They are usually made of a nylon/lycra/cotton blended material, which allows the sock to stretch and conform to any size feet, and makes for a good contact surface when applying finger pressure movements.

They can easily be thrown into a suitcase when traveling. And because of the thin, light material, they can be washed and towel dried quickly.

For those individuals who have children and would like to introduce them to reflexology, they make the perfect “teacher” for an older child or young adult. A child can either work on themselves, or share reflexology with a sibling or best friend. Reflexology is a wonderful and healthy “bonding tool.”

 

Suggested Use

~When applying reflexology, simply use your thumb (or index finger) to gently press and release -as you move over the reflex points.

~Until you memorize the location of the reflex points, use the socks on yourself or someone else – as often as you can.

~When you begin to feel more confident, try closing your eyes (with the socks still on), and see if you can find various points – using your thumbs.

~When you feel really confident, take the socks off (but leave them close by to test yourself), and see if you can remember some of the reflex points on one foot – then move to the other.

~Make it a game, and have a partner call out various reflex points – to see if you can find them on your feet.

~After awhile, you will begin to just naturally know where each point is located, by remembering where the organs are within your own body.

The feet mirror the body…it’s that simple!

 

Reflexology Socks

*Michelle R. Kluck, has published a wonderful reflexology book entitled: “Hands On Feet” – which include a pair of specially designed Reflexology Sox.

*For additional reflexology socks and supplies, please try: Nextag.com

 

Begin to take a fascinating and healthy journey through your feet.

Using a pair of reflexology socks, will give you a valuable overview of the foot map, and begin to show you the effectiveness of this awesome modality.

So try a little fancy footwork…and sock it to you!

Be well

 

To find a professional reflexologist in your area, please check out the Find a Practitioner link on this blog.

Photo: Rutty

 

12 thoughts on “Reflexology…Sock it to You!

  1. Afternoon Annie~

    It’s funny though…when I first saw these socks…I thought, “What the hell?!?!??

    But as I started to read more and more about them…I thought…why not?

    It’s a GREAT visual teaching tool for people just getting started…and I think children would LOVE them…cause they look funny!

    Much thanks for stopping by today Annie…I totally appreciate that!!

    Hope you do something “wonderful” this weekend.

    I have to work tomorrow…but Sunday…I’m off…yepeee!

    Sock it to you baby!

    Ron

  2. Hey Ron!

    I love that book. Its just a terrific primer and since I only found it at the library, I didn’t know there were those very cool socks on the book. How cool is that?!

    I must admit to being a lazy amateur reflexologist. I only do it for me and for my family….and instead of trying to memorize anything about this, I just rub whatever hurts. Seems to work just fine for me.

    What do you think of the efficacy of that? I’d really like to know if that’s really not enough and I should get myself learning more about this for self treatment.

    Hugs!!!

  3. Greetings Greenwoman!

    It’s SO GREAT that you’re already familar with her book!

    I saw it at the library here too! However, when someone buys it (which I have NOT done)…it comes with a pair of socks inside the front cover. It’s just too cool!

    I think she does a really wonderful job with explaining everything – considering she doesn’t use ANY illustrations to show the finger pressure technique – and that’s not easy!

    To me, the book is such a great way to get people involved with this modality.

    Hey listen…just the fact that you’re using reflexology in anyway is awesome!

    Reflexology is intuitive. So feel confident, that however and whenever your using it…is just perfect!

    You have the “gift” of healing…so just follow your heart!

    ANY type of finger pressure you use, is beneficial. I instruct my clients in between sessions, to just RUB their feet any “old way.” And just like you said…when you find a “hurt spot”…that’s where you focus!

    I use it on myself daily (with Reiki and essential oils). But I don’t do a complete session. I just work where I’m guided (which I’m sure is how YOU work too).

    There is also something spiritually powerful about reflexology. I believe our “soles”…are very much connected to our “soul.”

    Anytime I touch someone’s feet…it feels so beautifully sacred – I feel honored somehow.

    As always Greenwoman…thank you for your presence here…you add LIGHT!

    Be well,
    Ron

    P.S. Don’t cha’ just LOVE the Dooce Blog???? She makes me laugh til I cry! Very special lady she is!

  4. What a wonderful idea !!!
    This is something that I will put on my wish list. I love them.
    Now if only I can get the paint off the soles of my feet. (lol)

    Ron,
    You socked it to us this time.

    Thanks
    Dave

  5. Afternoon Dave!

    You and I have “think karma”… whenever I think of you…you stop by…how cool!

    Aren’t the socks fun????

    They remind me of the “feetie” pajama’s I use to wear when I was a kid…and LOVED them!

    Painting hu???

    When I teach reflexology…I have the students draw the “foot divisions” on the soles of their feet. I usually have one or two come back the following week saying, “I scrubbed and scrubbed…but could NOT get the magic marker off my feet.”

    And the damn things are SUPPOSE to be “easy-wash-off.”

    Oh well…I tell them, “It’s artwork…just leave it there!”

    SO good to hear from you today Dave…you ALWAYS bring such happiness and joy!

    Thank you!

    Sock it to ya…

    Ron

  6. I am so loving this idea… it is a wonderful way to study, practice and keep your feet warm. i wonder if there is a glove version…

    ..nothing like feel great while studying during the winter time!

  7. Hi Ajen~

    Welcome my friend…good to see ya!

    YES…there IS a glove version. If you go to the link that I suggested…I do believe they offer reflexology gloves too!

    So GLAD you enjoyed this post…I LOVED putting it together.

    I sometimes teach older children classes in reflexology…THIS is the perfect tool for them to learn!

    Hey….I’ve got the post you suggested ALMOST ready…so look for it soon!

    Thank you SO MUCH for stopping by to say HI.

    Hi to YOU too!

    Sock it to ya…

    Ron

  8. since this post, i’ve been saying “sock it to ya”… sort of in the style of gonzo from the muppet show (i am not ashamed to admit that)… anyhoo… thank you for working on the post.. i am looking forward to reading it!!!

    hugs

  9. Morning Ajen!

    Oh…that’s just too funny!

    I LOVE the muppets….Fozzie is my FAVE.

    And I have a “thing” for the song…The Rainbow Connection (makes me cry).

    Thanks for stopping by Ajen…and have a swell day!

    Sock it to ya!

    Ron

  10. Oh yes, I’ll definitely have to add reflexology socks to my wishlist. It would be a great tool for me to learn more about it all.

  11. Hey Beth~

    I think this little item may be a BIG thing on several wish lists this Christmas.

    Honesty….I think I’ll be giving them…along with a peppermint foot lotion…and maybe a foot roller!

    I can’t believe I NEVER thought of this before!!!

    Thanks SO MUCH for stopping by to say Hi Beth…hope all is well…and have a wonderful holiday!

    Sock it to ya~
    Ron

Comments are closed.