Aromatherapy for Babies

                                        

Just like adults, babies will have moments of restlessness, crankiness, anxiety, and sleeplessness.

Through essential oils, nature has gifted us with a gentle and effective means to assist these precious cherubs, when they seem to have an “off-day.”

Babies are particularly sensitive and responsive to the application of aromatherapy; therefore, I recommend using only two essential oils that will greatly support them, yet not offend their delicate senses.

 

*Roman Chamomile

*Lavender

Note: use only one or the other at a time.

 Both of these essential oils have relaxing, calming, and stress-relieving qualities that are quite effective and extremely gentle.

 

*Suggested Applications*

 

Tissue

*Place a single drop of essential oil on a facial tissue and place it in the crib, 8-10 inches from the baby’s head. The aroma will gradually diffuse the air, allowing the baby to breathe in the vapors.

 

Sleep/Eye Pillow

* You may have seen these small rectangular shaped pillows filled with lentils, rice, or oats. They are usually used for laying over your eyes to relax, or for headaches. They are sometimes scented with Lavender, however, they can be purchased unscented, so you can add the essential oil of your choice.

*Place a single drop of essential oil on the pillow and place it in the crib, 8-10 inches from the baby’s head. As with the tissue method, the essential oil will gradually diffuse the air.

 

Room Spray

*Place 4 drops of essential oil into a plastic/glass 4 oz. spray bottle filled with water (shake before each use). Lightly mist the air (away from the baby) allowing the essential oil vapors to gently diffuse the room.

 

Foot Reflexology

*Mix 1 drop of essential oil to 1 tsp. of jojoba carrier oil into a small glass bowl. Apply a small amount to the baby’s feet and gently rub. You will be affecting all the reflex points, relaxing and balancing the systems of the body.

Option: using your thumb – gently press and release over the soles and toes.

Babies respond very favorably to reflexology – so don’t be surprised if your little one suddenly calms down and nods off.

 

Caution Care

*Use only pure essential oils.

*External use only.

*Never use essential oils on the baby’s skin without first diluting with a carrier oil.

*Keep essential oils away from the baby’s eyes, nose, and mouth.

*Do not use any other essential oils other than the ones suggested.

*Do not use essential oils in the baby’s bath water.

 

So, when the stress of the “babyworld” seems to get to your baby…try some Aromatherapy.

Not only will it help Baby to chill….but also Mommy and Daddy!

Be well…Babies

 

For pure essential oils and supplies: Hands-On Aromatherapy

For eye pillows: Yoga Accessories

For: Aromatherapy for Babies and Children – Shirley Price

Photos: Shane Bonham & Modgiesmom

13 thoughts on “Aromatherapy for Babies

  1. Morning Akelamalu~

    That’s wonderful!

    See….you just said it Zzzzzzzzz

    It works!

    Don’t cha’ just love babies? Even when they get cranky they’re adorable. Of course, I don’t have one…so how the hell do I know?

    I love them anyway!

    Thank you for stopping by to say hello and for sharing your experience.

    Hope you have GREAT weekend Akelamalu!

    Be well Baby,
    Ron

  2. Hello! I’ve just discovered your blog and this is the first post I’ve browsed…and it’s sooo detailed about the usage and precations of eo’s…it’s wonderful to see!

    I’m a trained aromatherapist and am curious about a couple of things you mention here…the 8 – 10 inches you suggest for exposing the babies to the eo…I’m worried this would be too close considering that their sense of smell is so much more sensitive than ours? And have you discovered a way to test their sensitivities with certain oils before putting it in their room? I realize this is hard to do…what they can tolerate scent wise, they may not be able to tolerate on their skin, I’m just wondering about your experience with both scenarios?

    Please know that I ask these questions with the utmost respect for your knowledge and experience…I’m merely asking one practitioner to another!

    Peace in,
    Lil

  3. Hi Lil~

    Welcome…and thank you so much for stopping by Foot Notes and leaving me a comment!

    Nice to meet you.

    I don’t mind AT ALL that you asked these questions…infact I’m glad!

    Before I write a post giving ANY suggestions on the usage of essential oils, I add a lot of research, making sure of the saftey regulations. The professional resources that I used for this particular post, both suggested using a single drop of essential oil, and placing it at least 8-10 inches away from the baby’s head. “I” suggested using the tissue or sleep/eye pillow.

    Both Roman Chamomile and Lavender are such gentle and adaptible oils, that in my professional opinion, this seemed appropriate.

    As far as using essential oils on a baby’s skin – as long as it’s a SINGLE drop of a SINGLE oil, and used with a CARRIER OIL – it’s totally appropriate and safe.

    Some aromatherapist suggest placing the essential oil in with the baby’s bath water. To me…that’s just too “chancy.” And as you know, water does not evenly distribute the oils, which leaves room for skin irritation

    In my experiences, anything concerning a baby, I go by one rule…LESS is more.

    I’m a BIG reader of Valerie Ann Worwood….LOVE her!

    I hope I was clear in answering your wonderful and sensible questions. It’s such a JOY to talk to another practitioner.

    Thanks again for taking the time to say Hi and introducing yourself. Please stop by anytime you wish. I usually post 2-3 times a week, and vary my topics.

    Smell well,
    Ron

  4. And here I was going to recommend a sound-proofed room! snark !
    you are a sweetie, Ron – always thinking of healing at every level. Even for babies so that they can sleep peacefully.

  5. Evening Annie~

    Thanks so much for stopping by to say hello!

    I know you’ve been very busy with school and Mark, but you’re always so considerate to remember your blogger friends!

    YOU’RE a sweetie!

    Well…besides squirrels….I LOVE babies, so every once in a while I feel the need to write a post for them. It’s ALWAYS so much fun too!

    I stopped by your place this weekend to see how you were doing, and I was happy to find out that you were going on another date…. woo-woo!

    I’ll be by later to see what happened!

    As always Annie….mucho grassy for sharing the loving in your heart…at Foot Notes!

    Be well baby,
    Ron

  6. Thx for your response Ron! I’ve only worked with one baby (my own) and I always worked with LESS as you do! And it’s always been lavender…being one of the gentlests as you know. I may just go do some research adn talk to my teacher…because with my own daugther I have found aromatherapy, reflexology and homeopathy a “safe” way for me to administer healing. Thank you for responding and yes, being clear!

    Lil

  7. I pretty much live out of my _Aromatherapy for the Healthy Child_ by Valerie Ann Worwood. *grin* Even for my own personal use I utilize those blends rather then the ‘adult’ blends due to my close proximity to kiddos.

    Added you to my blogroll as an additional resource. One of these days I’ll have time to become more techno-saavy, but right now I have more pressing matters (like getting to bed at a semi-decent hour *lol*)

    And where did you (and Lilithmother) seek out your aroma-education? Once I finish with my current certs I want to pursue becoming a certified aromatherapist and have been slowly gathering info about some different resources (mostly as I’m trying to locate reputable oils for use with my family–eyeballing ‘hands-on’ in another window now!).

  8. Hello and Welcome!

    Thank you very much for stopping by and leaving a comment.

    Don’t you LOVE Valerie??? I get much of my research for these posts from her books.

    Thank you very much for the link….appreciate that!

    I’ll check out your site out tomorrow, when I’m having my morning coffee. Coffee…and the Internet…ahhh!

    I got my education from a massage school where I teach reflexology. I’m not an aromatherapist. I’ve just taken continuing education courses for my CEU credits. Being a reflexologist, I only use essential oils on the feet. And also with a neubulizer diffuser.

    I also use them with Reiki. They seem to help “magnify” the energy link between the recipient and Reiki. Valerie has a wonderful one called, “Aromatherapy for the Soul.”

    To me “Hands-On” is very friendly and professional, not over priced, and has quality oils.”

    See what you think.

    Thank you again for saying hi and introducing yourself.

    Stop back any time!

    Smell well,
    Ron

  9. Morning Edward~

    Welcome…and thanks for dropping by for a read and a comment!

    I noticed that you have a Squidoo Lens…I too had one awhile back on the topics that I discuss here. I’ll check yours out!

    Please stop back time…anytime. Have a great day!

    Be well,
    Ron

Comments are closed.