Aromatherapy & Steam Inhalation

                            

Breathe in……

 

When we breathe in essential oils, some of it’s molecules travel to the lungs, pass through the lining and into the bloodstream, where they travel around the body. Other molecules take an upward route to the brain, which receives a healing message – to relax or energize, for example – and transmits the appropriate “signal” along the nerve channels of the body.

Inhilation is the quickest way for essential oils to enter the body, and is the most effective way to deal with fragile emotions, and negative states of mind such as stress and depression. On an physical level, it is very useful for respiratory conditions, headaches, and sinus congestion.

Although essential oils may be inhaled directly from the bottle, other alternative methods are available.

 

Steam Inhalation

*Fill a small to medium size bowl with hot water (not boiling) and add no more than 2-3 drops of essential oil.

*Keeping your eyes closed, bend over the bowl; cover your head with a towel, and breathe deeply for a few minutes.

 

Some Suggested Essential Oils

Roman Chamomile

*Sedative, immunostimulant, antidepressant

Cypress

*Calmative, restorative, respiratory tonic

Frankincense

*Energizing, expectorant, immunostimulant

Pine

*Stimulant, expectorant, restorative

Geranium

*Regenerative, antidepressant, balances nervous system

Cedarwood

*Bronchial congestion, expectorant, emotionally grounding

 

Caution Care

*Use only pure essential oils.

*For external use only.

*Do not use steam inhalation if you are asthmatic (steam will aggravate this condition).

*Keep your eyes closed when using this method.

*Do not use this method on babies.

 

When used with care and respect, essential oils are a powerful tool that can support our total wellness – Mind, Body & Spirit.

Nature has giving us a precious and valuable gift.

So breath in….and enjoy!

Be well

 

For pure essential oils and supplies: Hands-On Aromatherapy

Portions of this post gratefully supplied by: “Aromatherapy for the Soul” – Valerie Ann Worwood

Photo: Sosij

 

 

12 thoughts on “Aromatherapy & Steam Inhalation

  1. Pingback: Aromatherapy Essential Oils » Blog Archive » Aromatherapy & Steam Inhalation

  2. Good Morning Teeyai~

    Thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment.

    Yes, most definately. This can help relieve allergy sufferers.

    Thanks for your imput!

    Be well,
    Ron

  3. ((( Solework ))) I love essential oils. I have a box full and I really want to start using them again more regularly. I have a Rose Geranium one that perks me up, and the Lavendar is my favorite. Thanks for the link…I think I need to freshen my supply 🙂 Any tips on one that would be beneficial for this point in my journey???

    Namaste!

  4. Morning Grace~

    Aren’t essential oils the BEST thing since sliced bread????

    More than any of my senses…SMELL is by far my favorite! Besides a “penguin” I think I was a NOSE in a past life… tee-hee!

    I started studying aromatherapy about 2 years ago. I incorporate it into my sessions (for clients..and for myself as well). I use them, in some way, every single day. I swear to God…they keep me well!

    Oh…Geranium and Lavender….two of the BEST oils to have in your kit. Geranium is especially beneficial for PMS and menopause. And Lavender…is good for just about anything. It adapts itself to help you in anyway you may need it. Mind, Body & Spirit.

    Yes…their are 2 essential oils that help me tremendously as I move through transformation – you may find them helpful for yourself.

    (I’ve been know to kick and scream sometimes…as I transform!?@?#)

    Clary Sage – it helps me to be silent and listen to the “voice.” A VERY powerful and wise oil.

    Juniper Berry – it helps to clear any obstructions on my path. It’s a great oil for learning the lessons I’ve come here to learn. It is deeply cleansing and purifying.

    **Just place a single drop of either oil in the palm of your hands and gently rub them together. Then bring your hands about 2 inches from your face (cupping them) and breathe deeply. I sometimes will hold my hands over my Chakras using the oils. You can even try blending the oils together. I just follow my intuition.

    If you’re ever in a bookstore, please look for “Aromatherapy for the Soul” – Valerie Ann Worwood. It’s a fabulous book on using essential oils for your “soul” – I use it constantly for the research I do for this blog.

    Also, before you start using the oils…take a few moments to place your hands over the bottles and allow your energy to mingle with the energy of the oils. It’s amazing how you’ll feel the “love” and “support” they are so willing to offer you.

    If you have the time, and feel like it…please go to the links of TOPICS on the sidebar. You should find…”Aromatherapy for the Spirit” you may find something in there for yourself.

    Thank you for stopping by today Grace, it’s always nice talking to ya!

    Have a Wonderful and Magical day tomorrow!

    Be well,

    Ron

  5. You said it girl….MAGIC!

    Thanks for dropping by today, Akelamalu…Happy Thanksgiving Day!

    Be well,
    Ron

  6. Pingback: Making use of Sinusitis Steam Inhalation | Nebulizer Inhaler

Comments are closed.